FIDE World Blitz Championship

Agdestein, Simen vs. Matlakov, Maxim

The World Blitz Championship is held at the Bolle Meierei ballroom on October 13 & 14, 2015. The tournament was first held in 1970, then not again until 1988. It has been an annual championship since 2006 (except for 2011). World Champion Magnus Carlsen is the defending champion. Past winners include Bobby Fischer (1970), Mikhail Tal (1988), Viswanathan Anand (2000), Alexander Grischuk (2006 & 2012), Vassily Ivanchuk (2007), Leinier Dominguez (2008), Magnus Carlsen (2009), Levon Aronian (2010) and Le Quang Liem (2013). Official site: WorldChess.com

Create your free account now to get started!

By clicking ‘Register’ you agree to our terms and conditions and confirm you have read our privacy policy, including the section on the use of cookies.

Lost your password? We'll send you a link to reset it!

After submitting this form you'll receive an email with the reset password link. If you still can't access your account please contact our customer service.

Which features would you like to enable?

We respect your privacy and data protection guidelines. Some components of our site require cookies or local storage that handles personal information.

Show Options

Hide Options