FIDE World Chess Cup

Svidler, Peter vs. Karjakin, Sergey

The World Cup is a 128-player single-elimination tournament, played between September 11 and October 5, in Azerbaijan's capital, Baku. The winner and the runner up will qualify to the 2016 Candidates tournament to determine the next World Championship challenger. The total prize fund is $1,600,000 (about €1,400,000) Each of six rounds are comprised of two game matches, plus tiebreaks, if necessary. The winners progress to a seventh round "Final" of four games, plus tiebreaks if necessary. Players receive 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game plus 30 seconds per move starting from move one. Tiebreaks consist of two game matches with each player receiving 25 minutes plus 10 seconds per move for the entire game. If still tied, two games will be played at a rate of 10 minutes per player plus 10 seconds per move. If still tied, a further two games will be played at a rate of 5 minutes per player plus 3 seconds per move. If necessary the final tiebreak consists of a single decisive sudden death game. The player with the white pieces receives 5 minutes, the opponent with the black pieces receives 4 minutes, plus 3 seconds per player per move starting from move 61. In case of a draw the player with the black pieces is declared the winner. Official site: www.bakuworldcup2015.com

Create your free account now to get started!

By clicking ‘Register’ you agree to our terms and conditions and confirm you have read our privacy policy, including the section on the use of cookies.

Lost your password? We'll send you a link to reset it!

After submitting this form you'll receive an email with the reset password link. If you still can't access your account please contact our customer service.

Which features would you like to enable?

We respect your privacy and data protection guidelines. Some components of our site require cookies or local storage that handles personal information.

Show Options

Hide Options