9th Bilbao Masters

The 9th Chess Masters Final takes place in Bilbao, Spain from 13-23 July 2016 and features the reigning World Champion Magnus Carlsen, his challenger Sergey Karjakin, last year’s winner Wesley So, fellow Top-10 players Hikaru Nakamura and Anish Giri and Chinese prodigy Wei Yi. The double round-robin has a single rest day on 18 July and uses "football" scoring, with 3 points for a win and 1 for a draw. The time control is 90 min for 40 moves + 60 min for the rest of the game + 10 sec for each move from move 41. No draws are allowed without the arbiter’s permission. If two players tie for first a 2-game blitz match (4 min + 3 sec) will be played. If still tied one Armageddon game (5 vs 4 min) will determine the winner. Official website: bilbaochess2016.com

Lost your password? We'll send you a link to reset it!

After submitting this form you'll receive an email with the reset password link. If you still can't access your account please contact our customer service.

Which features would you like to enable?

We respect your privacy and data protection guidelines. Some components of our site require cookies or local storage that handles personal information.

Show Options

Hide Options