Tata Steel Masters

Carlsen, Magnus vs. Giri, Anish

The 2018 Tata Steel Masters is a 14-player single round-robin taking place from 13-28 January. For its 80th edition the tournament boasts six Top 10 players including World Champion Magnus Carlsen and former champions Vladimir Kramnik and Vishy Anand. As well as the traditional venue in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands, rounds will be played in Hilversum (17 January) and in Groningen (24 January). The time control is 100 minutes for 40 moves followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, with a 30-second increment per move from move 1. If two or more players tie for first place then a 2-game blitz (5+3) playoff and, if still tied, an Armageddon game will be held 15 minutes after all the games in the Masters and Challengers have finished, though the monetary prizes will be shared evenly. Official website: www.tatasteelchess.com