Supposed Three-Move Draw Rule

I was ONE MOVE AWAY from checkmating my opponent with my Queen when he decided to continually check my King with a rook.  My King was held at bay in one corner by his King with THREE open spaces available to move back-and-forth with.  I PURPOSELY never went back to the same space twice in a row, alternating between the three spaces, to AVOID the three-move draw rule.

Suddenly the box appeared and said that the game was a stalemate "due to the same position being repeated three times," which wasn't true.  This website doesn't seem to understand what the word, "consecutive," means.

Also, the rules of chess state that the PLAYER WITH THE LIMITED-MOVING KING has the OPTION of calling a stalemate--it's NOT automatic!   I wouldn't have called for a draw because it was a 15-minute timed game and I had over 3 minutes left and my opponent was down to 42 seconds.  Given the timed aspect, I feel that THIS WEBSITE RIPPED ME OFF.

Sort by Date Descending Date Descending Date Ascending Most Liked Receive updates

Comments 2

Guest 10595882983
Join chess24
  • Free, Quick & Easy

  • Be the first to comment!


Create your free account now to get started!

By clicking ‘Register’ you agree to our terms and conditions and confirm you have read our privacy policy, including the section on the use of cookies.

Lost your password? We'll send you a link to reset it!

After submitting this form you'll receive an email with the reset password link. If you still can't access your account please contact our customer service.

Which features would you like to enable?

We respect your privacy and data protection guidelines. Some components of our site require cookies or local storage that handles personal information.

Show Options

Hide Options